Bullocks with Butterflie Wings

Korean Scooby Snacks: Volume 1

Posted in blogging, food, Korea, travel by MommyTaco on 28 June 2013

Today, after I dropped The Boy off for his Hapkido lessons, I stopped by the local 마트 [“ma-tuh”] (mart) for some trash bags and an afternoon snack. I have really taken a liking to browsing these mini convenience stores for some tasty treats and hit the nail on the head with today’s finds. I decided that while I enjoy my snacks, and my hour and a half of kid-free time, I’ll share this moment of zen with you all.

Image

On the left, we have some cream-filled cookies. Pretty much your basic shortbread cookie, but the filling is PINEAPPLE flavored! YUM! I wish I could give an exact name for them, but all I got out of a Google Translate was 롯데샌드 오리지널 [“los-de-saen-deu o-li-ji-neol”] would be the brand Lotte Sand (sandwich cookie?), Original (flavor). They are pretty tastey and come with two small packs of 6 cookies inside. I find the packaging to be helpful, so that I don’t accidentally (HAHAHA!!!) eat all 12 cookies at once. Because you know I would.

In the middle is the famous (in Korea?) Milkis drink. You can pretty much find this all over the place, including the 1970s looking vending machines which holds super small (for American standards) cans of beverages. Milkis is a carbonated beverage that is made with a touch of milk. There’s a variety of flavors, and I really need to find the fruit flavored ones, but I am officially renaming this Korean Baptist Punch, because it tastes just like Baptist Punch!!! (!!!!) If you don’t know what Baptist Punch is, that’s because it’s another name I made up for “punch” aka frozen sorbet mixed with Sprite, which melts into this creamy delicious carbonated concoction. I don’t think it really has an official recipe name, so I call it Baptist Punch, because it is usually the default beverage at all events hosted by Baptists (baby showers, bridal showers, weddings and anniversary celebrations). On a side note: it is one of my favorite drinks, we even served it at our wedding and I make my own single servings of it in a glass every year for our anniversary. NOM! Now I don’t have to do that for the next two years, because I can buy it in a bottle!

The next item, on the right, are pretty much puffed potato sticks. That’s all I got. Sounds pretty boring when you compare them against the other two items, but they are lightly seasoned, and pretty tasty.

ImageFinally, I thought I’d also show you what I got for The Boy for a post-hapkido snack, so you don’t think that I’m keeping all of these treats to myself. So here is a picture of 바나나우유 [“pa-na-na u-yu”] (banana milk). The u-yu (milk) here is delicious, so far I have found pa-na-na (banana) and dal-gi (strawberry) flavors. I am not sure if they have any other flavors, but there are also these really cute miniature bottles that are like yogurt smoothies. When I say little, I really mean little. I’ll try to get some of those for the next Scooby Snacks post. So the u-yu comes in containers that you don’t actually open. It has a foil seal on the top, and you get a small straw (aka glorified coffee stir-stick with a pointy end…er…not far off from a Capri-Sun straw) and jab it through the foil. Pictured with it is the other/second pack of “original flavored cookies” that I was good and did not devour.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marmie said, on 28 June 2013 at 05:56

    Yummo!

  2. Megan Willingham said, on 28 June 2013 at 09:13

    I miss Korean snacks… I love the sandwich cookies with cheese… just like what you got but cheese flavor… OH and the sweet potato crackers. *drool* I miss Korean snacks.

  3. Emma Banks said, on 1 July 2013 at 14:49

    Hi there! I had a question for you about possibly collaborating on something and was hoping you could email me back to discuss? Thanks so much!

    – Emma

    emmabanks9 (at) gmail (dot) com

  4. Jessi said, on 6 July 2013 at 19:00

    OH MY GOODNESS! PINEAPPLE COOKIES! I love those things!

    The banana milk, though………………………ew.

    • MommyTaco said, on 6 July 2013 at 19:28

      I much prefer the strawberry milk to the banana, but this place didn’t have any. 😦 I am happy to send you some cookies when you get settled in!!


Leave a Reply

